Short, Skinny Kayak?

Hello,

I’m new to kayaking, and generally just rent sit-on-tops. When I went to try out some sit-ins, I was surprised to find that the one I enjoyed the most was a very long skinny kayak. (Stitch and Glue Night Heron) It’s certainly not because of the hull speed, I’m not that strong or that fast of a paddler. Instead it was the combination of a boat that felt like it was part of my body, instantly, and was easy to move around despite being so long, and the fact that, being so narrow, I could paddle it easily without bashing my knuckles. It might be my history of aggressive skating and motorcycle racing, but I just don’t see the added stability of the wider kayaks as a benefit. It makes it feel like I have to fight it when I want to move around in the waves, whereas the skinnier ones just move with me, like the difference between a harley, which will stay up whether you want it to or not, and a sport bike which dives into the turns… ok, well, it’s a horrible analogy, but it’s the best I’ve got at the moment.

So, I was wondering. I see lots of short, fat kayaks, that are incredibly stable, and incredibly slow, and lots of long fast kayaks, that approach surf-ski’s in design.

I’ve read a bit on the “long boat myth” etc etc, and think a 15’ boat would be more than adequate for my paddling (and a lot easier to deal with logistically) has anyone seen plans/offsets for a 15’ish boat that’s skinny?

Is this a bad idea? Would a skinny boat that short not have enough buoyancy/displacement?

(ps, to me, skinny means < 21" across… ish… heavy on the “-ish”)

Thanks. :slight_smile:

– James

I’d love to try a Night Heron, but my
feets too big.

High Deck Version
i know CLC has a High Deck version that accommodates up to a size 13.

http://www.clcboats.com/shop/boats/kayak-kits/light-touring-kayaks/night-heron-high-deck-strip-planked-performance-sea-kayak-kit.html

– James

Mine are size 14-15. Why did you call
the NH “short”?

I didn’t think I did.