Shortening-lengthing wood paddles?

I have done this by cutting the shafts on a 45 and gluing then together with Gorilla glue and fiberglassing the outside.Is there a better-stronger way? Should I put a rod of something glued inside?

Thanks,Turtle

I would pin them
I would probably make a V jig. cut the paddle at 45. Using the jig drill a pin hole into each piece and epoxy the pieces together. Once that is setup, I would either fiberglass over the area or better yet, run carbon fiber tape and epoxy over the shaft. You could even cut a design into the end of the carbon fiber to create a pattern and make it a decorative piece as well as a structural one.

One consideration
I’m not too experienced with wood-working, but I do know basic physics. The closer you put the joint to the grip end, the less stress it will recieve. The closer you put the joint to the spot where you grip the shaft with your lower hand, the more stress it will recieve. Best to keep the joint as high as you can while still having the working room you need.

To shorten
I’d cut it just below the grip. Cut the grip wings off the grip and refit/relaminate to the shaft forming a new grip.

Thanks
For all the info,I really appreciate this board.That last idea-to leave the main shaft intact-great-I never thought of that.What length and size pins and made of what for lengthing?

thanks,Turtle

Exactly how I thought it might be done…

– Last Updated: Apr-12-08 7:47 AM EST –

...Make sure you allow for the width of the saw cut. The cut should line up with the inside of the "wings" - not the outside of the shaft. Otherwise, you'll lose your blade width on both sides.

I would recommend gluing the base (flat cross-section) of the cut-off grip section to a square block of scrap, in such a way that the block will line the grip up with a table saw fence and hold the grip in position for the cuts. Use a large enough piece of scrap that it keeps your hand away from the blade.