should I add a rudder?

I am new to kayaking and have recently purchased a 18 Chesapeake and have been cruising the local lakes. I have close to 70 miles under my belt now so I am feeling comfortable with the boat. With the boat came a feather craft rudder and since I have never had a kayak with a rudder I don’t know if I should install it or not. The boat sits high in the water unloaded and when I am just out for the afternoon, and when the wind comes up it wants to weather cock. I think that is what you call it. I don’t have any trouble maneuvering the boat at all, but would love to hear from those that use a rudder. My concern is that if I do install it and don’t end up using it much, or don’t like using it. It will be in the upright position and will catch even more wind and I won’t be able to take it off.

I really don’t even know how one uses a rudder efficiently when cruising. Do you just set it to counter the weathering or do you have to constantly adjust it? Can you just “center” it and that eliminates the weathering?

Thans for you advise it is appreciated.

Scott

I have used rudders
I have had boats that had rudders and found that I rarely used them, they also can be problematic when doing some forms of self rescue. I now have boats with skegs, but I also find myself not using them very much, only in very (30mph+) windy days. Skegs do take up a lot of space in the rear hatch. I have found that edging or paddling can easily correct wind issues.

There is a pretty big division on the rudder vs. skeg vs. nothing camps; all have valid points, it just sort of matters your personal water of choice and paddling preference what you will finally like.

1 Like

My 2 Cents
Some boats do need a rudder, but that depends on the design. I have a boat that came with a rudder, but I took it off. This boat is capable of being controlled by edging fairly effectively.