sit on top kayak for Great Lakes

Hi everybody, I’m new here. In my profile I put “intermediate” and thought I was until I started reading here and realized I am probably closer to a beginner even though I have been paddling for 5 years.

I am looking to buy a sit on top kayak for summer use on local lakes and possibly some use on Lake Erie and/or Michigan for paddling and light surfing. Of the ones I have tried I like the Tarpons best but even they seem really wide and sluggish. I want something with rocker so its good on waves, reasonably stable without being downright sluggish, and would prefer a slightly deeper one so my center of gravity won’t be so high. No need to carry a lot of gear, I have another boat I use for camping. I think the surf ski by Futura (15’ x 24" beam, can’t remember name) is close except my budget allows for about half of that, AND is has no rocker. But that’s the best I can explain what I am looking for.

I am 5’8" and 155 pounds if that helps.

I agree
you are pretty small for a Tarpon. A Scupper Pro (RTM Tempo) would be faster and better out in the waves, but you can probably do even better in the smaller RTM Disco. The new CD Zone is pricey, but also worth a look.

Cobra also has a couple of boats you might look at like the Eliminator, but it is more of a flatwater kayak for training/fitness paddling and might be terrible on a big choppy lake. Their Tourer is also a possibility, but might be a big boat for you as well.

Also, check out the SOT search tool at

http://www.topkayaker.net/KayakData/KayakStats7.asp

jim

Cobra Revision -
Check it out on their webpages.

RTM Disco
Its a pretty slick little boat. I have one, but it hasn’t had much use. It is not a big guy boat. It would be perfect for someone your size.

It is plastic. It is 14’ long by 26" wide, and weighs about 50#