sit-on-tops

ahoy

i was flipping through some catalogs the other day, i noticed these sit-on-top kayaks. specifically the Wildnerness Kaos and the Perception Aloha.

these looked to be boats marketed towards paddlers on the experienced side, maybe as a second or third boat. is this accurate?

what do you guys think of these boats? i think it’d be a blast to tool around in the waves with one of these things.

i’m rather new to the kayak world, so any insight would be ace.

thanks

Kaos is surf dedicated boat
Great for beginner to intermediate surfers.

anyone else?

does anyone use these kind of boats here? how do you like to use them?

Maybe more helpful if you told
us how big you are, what you want to use the boat, for and whether you’re just looking for advice on these particular models or on anything that might serve your purposes.

Check the reviews
under product reviews.

I know BeachAviator bought a Kaos recently and had a good time with it. I see several on the water here. My feeling was it was kind of a long heavy surf boat. They are very popular for surfing in California.

The other boat I have not seen or tried.

well…
i’m 6’0, 175-180lbs, in reasonable shape, and on the beginner end of kayaking. i have plans to buy a traditional kayak in the spring.

sometime towards the end of the summer i’d like to get a second boat. there are quite a few little inlets around where i go to school (Rhode Island). i’ve always thought it’d be fun to tool around in the water on a boat that’d be easy to hop in and out of, and wouldnt be a hassle to bail water out of. these sit on top kayaks seem to fit the bill.

what i’d like to know is, what are the general capabilities of these kind of boats in wave (nothing severe) and choppy water (i’m not talking about white water) conditions, and on calm water (though thats not where’d i’d want to use it all that often).

i’ve looked at reviews of the Kaos on this website already,

thanks

Kaos Is Definitely Surf Oriented