Skin-on-frame building classes/workshops?

Anyone know of any classes or workshops on building skin-on-frame kayaks, located on the east coast?

I have been reading about skin on frame boats and I think it would be really cool to learn to build one. I don’t think I could do it on my own as i have no woodworking experience. From my google searches it appears that several years ago there used to be a bunch of options to take a class or week-long workshop, but first of all the covid situation seems to have ended all that, plus all of them appeared to be on the west coast anyway.

https://www.clcboats.com/boatbuilding_classes/

CLC hasn’t got a SOF class yet. Nick Schade form Guillemont Kayaks has the beginings of a SOF boat he built that he thinks will one day turn into a class and drawings. Both take a while to develop when you have other projects going.

Take a look at his videos on the skin-on-frame Micro Bootlegger on his web site or you tube.

https://www.guillemot-kayaks.com/

SOF …micro bootlegger…Making the Skin-on-Frame Kayak - Build Overview - YouTube

of course The OP said “east coast”… I think Cape Falcon Kayaks is west coast but here is his web site. …good videos though…

1 Like

CLC looked promising until I discovered that among their many boatbuilding options, SOF isn’t one of them.

Cape Falcon Kayaks I think is based on the west coast, but it looks like they are not doing actual classes at all now. They just have videos that you have to pay for.

Oh well

Cape Falcon used to conduct an east coast class most years, but has suspended all classes over the last couple of years due to health issues. That’s a shame, it was an enjoyable experience.

where on the east coast? I’m hoping to build a skin boat “someday…”