Skylark Vs Stratos?

Hello, I am a newbie doing research on buying a kayak. I’ve been thinking about buying one for years and I am ready. I will do mostly lakes, including large ones (open water) and slow moving rivers, possibly occasional dip in the Puget Sound (I live in the PNW area). Mostly half day outings with occasional full day or overnight trips.
My research boiled down to two kayaks, based on use case, location, and budget: Eddyline Skylark (12 foot) and Dagger Stratos 14.5.
My understanding is that the thermoformed Eddyline will ‘glide’ better and will be stiffer. It is lighter but shorter that the rotomolded Stratos and doesn’t have a skeg of thigh braces. I believe the Stratos may be more forgiving…?
I am 5’9 for 180lbs in OK shape. I only have a of 4/5 days total experience kayaking on flat water.

Any input anyone can provide would likely be helpful in me deciding which kayak to purchase.

Best regards,

SR

I’ve had a Skylark in the fleet since ‘06 or ‘07. While other boats have come and gone, the Skylark stays. It’s great on flat to flat-ish water … amazingly stable, tracks very well for a 12’ boat, and is reasonably light. However, I wouldn’t recommend that a relatively new paddler take any 12’ rec boat very far out on large, open water. Wind and waves can kick up too fast to be safe.
Is there a reason you favor Eddyline’s 12’ Skylark versus their 14’ Equinox? At your weight, esp. with a load of overnight gear, the Skylark will be siting fairly low in the water. The Eddyline Equinox seems like a better comparison (size-wise) to the Dagger Stratos 14.5. The Equinox has no skeg, but in my opinion you’ll very rarely miss it (especially as you learn to stay the course by adjusting your stroke), and you will always appreciate not having the skeg’s extra weight.