small craft advisories

We have planned a paddling trip at the North Carolina coast this weekend for quite a while. The plan was to paddle in some estuarian waters near Swansboro, NC (not the open ocean) – that is salt marshes, tidal creeks.

However, the last weather forecast calls for 18-25 mph(20-33 knots) winds out of the NNE through the weekend. The NWS has issued a small craft advisory, with seas of 6 ft or greater.

Should we call off our plans to paddle? We have to be down there for another (non-paddling event) on Saturday, but I don’t want to drag the kayaks down there if it’s not safe.

I think I already know the answer to my question, but I’m new to this sea kayaking stuff.

if you have to ask…

– Last Updated: Sep-18-08 11:43 AM EST –

you're right; you know the answer to your question.

It always comes down to your own best judgment on the whole risk/reward - skills/conditions teeter totter and it sounds like you're already on the way to making that go/no go call for yourself.

..and agree, Lamar at BIK is a great resource!

talk to the locals
Barrier Island Kayaks

I’m local…
I know this area, and while I agree with the “if you have to ask” notion, I can also say that there is plenty of wind protected area behind BIK to paddle in the creeks. Just don’t get out in the inlet channel and you’ll be out of the wind for the most part. When it comes out of the NNE like that, it’s blocked by Emerald Isle and spoil islands when you’re in the marsh creeks around Huggins and Dudley islands.

You’re going to be there anyway …
… if I understood your post correctly …

Why not not go ahead a take your yaks ??

You can have a look at the day and place , and take it from there as to go out or not . Can’t be that big of a deal to strap on a couple boats , paddles and PFD’s to take along with you … What’s the worse that could happen , you “don’t” unstrap them and put in , you just bring them home again ??