"Small" pickup and sea kayaks? Rack options?

Wondering what the rack options are for longer sea kayaks (14-20 foot range) on something like a Ford Ranger? Just get something like a ladder rack?
I dislike shopping for a new vehicle nowadays because it often entails buying a new rack as well.

Will you have a topper or no topper?

Looking at no topper right now.

Having driven many sizes and models of “company car” pick-up trucks (I was a construction manager for 25 years) and hauling long stuff like ladders, scaffolding and 10’ to 20’ bundles of material, I would say an open ladder rack is the most versatile, and, in some ways, easiest to load because you can climb up into the bed once the boats are up there and more easily reach the straps.

My ex boyfriend had an '04 Ranger with a cap and we put a Thule rack on the cab and the rear of the cap to carry kayaks and canoes. That worked okay, and we carried a small folding step-stool to enable getting the straps situated.

BTW, regarding replacing racks when you change vehicles: I have never paid full price for any Thule components. People sell them all the time when they buy a new car. Only cost me $150 for a “like new” full set up for my 2015 Mazda CX5 when I bought it – guy in my area had one on Craigslist that he had just taken off the exact model of car. I have bought them on Ebay auctions as well, usually for 50% or less of new list price.

I had Thule racks with extra wide bars
and folding J cradles on my previous crew cab GMC Canyon. The spread wasn’t great but it was adequate. I regularly carried 17’ sea kayaks.

A friend at the YMCA got a Yakima pick-up bed rack for his new Tacoma and seems to love it. He can take the whole rack off the vehicle easily and it has a nice long span with aero bars. I’m jealous of his rack even though I’m totally happy with the set-up on my vehicle.

If you have a double cab, roof racks on the cab are preferable because the boat will be more centered on the truck.