smallies below Ashville?

Help me if you can! I live in the Upstate of S.C. and would like to try my hand at Small Mouth fishing. I know very little about them,as I mainly fish for trout, crappie, and lg mouth bass. Is this the right time of year for them and does anyone know of a place I can go between Ashville, Brevard, and Shelby. The reason for the narrow geographical area is time and opportunity. I can either wade fish, or use my SOT, however, I must be able to paddle back to the put in. Please be detailed with directions if Ya got um! Thanks for your responses!

river smallies
Have you tried www.riversmallies.com ? A great source of information. Smallmouth fishing out there should still be pretty good, but I have no first hand knowledge. Any clear, flowing river with some deeper holes should hold smallies. I would try fishing deep-running crawfish crankbaits or senkos.

The smallmouth bass
In our neck of the woods the water is too cold for the smalies to be very active. I’ve never caught any in water that was colder than 58 deg F. They may act differently in N.C. but I doubt it.

Don’t think you will find river smallies
in that area. The two possibilities are the lakes around you, Jocassie is probably the best choice, or some of the rivers and creeks at lower elevations.

rickers…I beg to differ…

– Last Updated: Nov-27-07 8:24 PM EST –

The larger Smallmouth will remain actively feeding all year round down to water temps approaching 35 degrees. I have caught smallmouth in February with ice on my line guides.