SOF for the mechanical moron

Revisited- At Canoecopia on Saturday, I spent some time speaking with Mark Rogers of Superior. He conducts one-week workshops in Wisconsin for the construction of SOFs. He indicated that at the end of the week, the participant will drive away with a seaworthy boat that may just require more paint and varnish at home.

These boats actually were more enticing than the wooden ones I saw in the CLC booth. As I understand it, you build to your body size.

Does anyone have any experience with Superior and its yaks and/or workshops?

SOF Class
I have no experience with Superior’s class, but I recently attended a similar one (Skinboat School in WA). Very good experience, very good kayak, very interesting. Superior has a good reputation, so you should be pleased. It’s hard to mess it up if you have someone watching over you.

SOF class:
Our group here in Daytona Beach just completed our second SOF project with Turner Wilson. We now have several excellant examples of Greenland artwork completed, and everyone is delighted with the results. They range from dedicated rolling boats to daily use paddlers, as Turner will help you create exactly what you want, to your dimensions. Beyond construction, you will find the course very interesting, as Turner is a great guy to just hang out with, and you will come away from the experience with a great knowledge and understanding of what our Inuit neighbors have done to survive in their harsh environment. He provides all of the materials needed, and I suggest you contact him to see if you can work out the details. Toward the end of the course, he and Sherry conducted a rolling seminar, and that too, is something to experience! He can be reached at; www.kayakway.net

Cheri and Turner’s site is
www.kayakways.net (not kayakway.net) :slight_smile:

Oh! Oh! I’m a moron.
I can’t answer anything specific about Superior kayaks or the building classes.