Solid wood canoe paddle suggestions

I’m looking for suggestions on good makers of solid wood canoe paddles. In all honesty I just prefer the looks of solid wood compared to laminates.

They are all ottertails and beavertails
Sugar Island designs are all laminates. Laminates are stronger… Solid wood paddles you have to pay attention to grain and construction… Poor ones can warp or break.

I suggest Tremolo Paddles or Badger Paddles or Grey Owl for solid paddles.

Shaw and Tenney
http://www.shawandtenney.com/

Good paddles but wicked heavy
Some trimming would be useful

Tremolo

– Last Updated: Apr-29-15 9:19 PM EST –

I also highly recommend Tremolo paddles by Caleb Davis. Caleb lives in the heart of the Adirondacks, and has been making high quality paddles and teaching traditional flatwater canoeing for more than 25 years. I have a couple of his paddles. They are made from a single piece of wood. I've been using mine for many years, maintained with a little varnish and oil they are still as good as brand new. Caleb tapers the edges to a relatively sharp edge, making them ideal to easily slice for strokes that require it.

http://www.tremolopaddles.wcha.org/tremelopaddles/Welcome.html

Others

– Last Updated: Apr-30-15 1:59 PM EST –

Badger and Grey Owl, both Canadian companies, make very good factory animal tail paddles. Animal tails are known for use with in-water, recoveries, the long blade and sliced recovery both slowing cadence. That long blade also pretty much eliminates cross strokes and maneuvers.

Your paddling might improve with a Grey owl Fleetwood, a B.B. Espresso or a Cricket with wider, 8"+ and shorter, ~ 22", blade because they work better in the water.

While you’re deciding
I’d suggest picking up a Grey Owl tripper or chieftain in cherry. Either will do till something better is found. Be careful with them in shallows, though…

With all due respect…