Solo Buffalo River Headwaters to Gulf

I’m laying groundwork / gathering info for a Solo Buffalo River Headwaters to Mississippi Mile 0 / Gulf of Mexico trip.

So,

Hello All!!!

I’m a photographer by trade and I don’t know / can’t find anyone who has made this trip before, so I’m looking for input on a variety of issues, and reaching out to y’all. (Been checking the archives, web sites, books, lurking and what-have-you.)

Solo. (Said that once already.)

Photo Trip!!!

New Canoe!!! (considering We-no-nah Prism, Nova Craft Supernova, or Swift Shearwater) ~ throw your considered opinion or other choice into the ring.

Some class II/III (.5) with greater than II/III consequences (no way to get help) at the beginning (Hailstone Headwaters / Upper Buffalo) to Tracking and Tow Boat / Supertanker wake. (White/Big Muddy to the Gulf)

Any and All kind advice and input welcome for gear, logistics, provisioning, what to do / see, photo-ops, timing, and what-have-you.

Never made a long solo trip like this before. (Weeks vs. Months) Never put a canoe through a class III canyon run before. (Hailstone)

6’1” Solid 220. Intermediate to advanced water / boat / camping skills.

Will be buying new (camping, boat, photo) gear for this trip. (But, keep in mind, I will be keeping it all on the Buffalo River when I get back.)

Current Primary Concern(s): Can a solo long trip boat go from a Hailstone run to the Gulf (3 different types of rivers along the way) and do this reasonably well / which one? (And) Properly gearing up for this type of trip.

So maybe I’m over-thinking the trip, (if that’s possible), but I sure do appreciate learning from those that have paddled before me.

Thanks in advance and kindest regards,

~ David

Prism + Hailstone?
Hello!

I’ve only paddled sections of the Buffalo near Kyle’s, but I don’t think I’d be looking at the Prism for the Hailstone section. (I don’t think I’d want to paddle a WW boat in the lower reaches either ;^)