Solo canoe advice

-- Last Updated: Aug-23-12 9:49 PM EST --

Sorry to beat a dead horse, but I just can't decide on a solo boat.

I'm 6'1", 230-240lbs depending on where in the calendar year we fall in relation to thanksgiving. For a large white man, I have surprisingly latin hips. I paddle a Kipawa and a Canyon but have been using my Dad's old 14 foot cedar-canvas prospector on solos but she leaks like a sieve and is as fragile as glass after 40 something years.

I'm looking for a royalex boat that will get me from A to B on the flats but won't self-destruct on some I's and II's on the way. Assume an extra 50lbs of gear is all I usually bring and I always one shot my portages so that weight is all in one pack which will obviously affect my ability to properly trim the boat. Eventually a dedicated ultralight flatwater solo (Shearwater most likely) will be mine but right now I'm a poor graduate student looking for cheap kicks.

So far I've considered:
Wenonah Argosy - I REALLY like this boat but worry I'm too big for it
Wenonah Wilderness - probably more my size but everything I've seen/read points to it being a less exciting boat.
Bell Rockstar - thoughts?

Discuss/throw other suggestions and questions my way!

Rockstar might work if you can find one,
But if I were you I’d be looking at a Supernova.

Nova!
I second the Super Nova. The backwater gets handled well after you learn how much j stroke to use. Carves the IIs in my favorite section like a boss. I’m 6’4" 270LBS. I can kneel or sit comfortably. Its a treat of a canoe.

I’m 5’10", 225 lbs.
I love my Bell Yellowstone Solo. It’s comparable to the Argosy, and I’m definitely not too big for it. I’ve paddled an Argosy and like it as well, except for the clunky adjustable seat.

With gear, my Yellowstone is a little sluggish, but serious tripping is an infrequent event for me anyway. Either boat would be fine in class I/II. I don’t know about the Argosy, but the Yellowstone is a submarine in big waves.

Good luck