Solo canoe capable of camping but also up to class II

Hi all,

I am a relative novice, but not a total beginner, to canoeing. We had an OT Penobscot 16 in the '90s, then moved to PA for 16 years and eventually sold it. We just did calm water with it, having little kids. I did a lot of paddling on the Cowpasture in Bath County VA when I was a kid, and we have taken a lot of outfitter-style day trips on the Brandywine in PA, in both canoes and kayaks.

Now were back in our old neighborhood in Richmond, and got an Esquif Presage for my wife and me to do tandem canoeing. We wanted as close to an all-rounder as we could get, with a focus on camping trips , but also capable of shorter mild WW day trips.

I bought it a month ago but it’s been so rainy that the James River has been too high for floating (for me anyway), but yesterday I took it out solo, with some friends on the South-Anna, much smaller than the James. The river was pretty high and there were some rapids that scared me a bit, but I managed just fine. However I went swimming twice… both times not from the rapids but from tree branches along the bank that I hit sideways. First time the canoe dumped me out but did not capsize. Second time the canoe capsized and filled up with water. I was able to swim it to a quiet eddy and tip it over to dump it out, and get back in. Lost my cooler though.

However I learned from yesterday’s experience that I want to get a smaller canoe for such trips. My wife will not be interested in such rapids, and I think a smaller boat will be more maneuverable for me to paddle solo. I would have been a lot more confident yesterday with a more agile canoe. The Presage (15’ 11") felt too big.