Solo Canoe Decisions

-- Last Updated: Jun-20-12 8:00 PM EST --

I want a Solo Canoe, Not necessarily a dedicated solo boat, but I paddle solo, never with a passenger. My primary candidates are as follows. Mad River Freedom Solo, Nova Craft Super Nova, Wenonah Rendezvous 15'8", and L'Esquif Pocket Canyon.

I've been paddling for a few years now, I'm know expert, but I'm certainly no beginner. My current boat a Mad River ME, way too much rocker for me. Its a ton of fun navigating rock gardens and occasionally surfing the tails of some II's and III's in my area however most of those are seperated by painfully long flat water stretches. I've gotten my J-stroke to the point where I can paddle the shorter flat spots just fine, but if the wind blows, I turn whichever way it wants me to. I'm a day tripper, weigh 270lbs, 6'4" and carry probably 50lbs of gear (cooler, folding chair, boombox) Occasional weekend camping trips are a must as well.

So...lets have the cons, as the reviews section tends to cover the pros pretty well. Any more personal info needed to form your opinnion feel free to ask. I don't mind a kneeling seat, however my size 14 feet don't like slipping out from under it when upside down (got trapped in April...it was cold.) Ideally I'd have a seat for flat water and a saddle for fun stuff.

Thanks!
Matthew

Larger dedicated solos

– Last Updated: Jun-22-12 4:36 PM EST –

The larger dedicated solos in composite, lighter, faster, more expensive, are Colden's Wild and Star Fires, Hemlocks SRT and Eaglet, Sawyer's Autumn Mist, Swifts Osprey, Keewaydin 15 and Shearwater and Wenonah's Argosy and Wilderness.

In rubber, heavier, slower, less expensive, consider Esquif's Echo, MRC's Guide/Freedom Solo, Mohawks Soloo 14 and, again, WeNoNah's Argosy and Wilderness.

The Nova SuperNova meets the 30" plus criteria but is pretty round bottomed, but you should try it too.