Solo Canoe for Windy Condtions and Speed

I am a pretty passionate kayaker turned solo canoeist. I am trying to find the right combination of canoes to best suit my needs…since I am still learning about canoeing I am still refining my needs / desires.

Bottom Line: Is a longer and straighter keeled boat like the Bell Magic or one of the similar 16-17 foot Wenonahs going to be better able to track and be manageable in windy conditions than a shorter and moderately rockered boat like my Swift Osprey or Bell Merlin II? It seems that a longer boat that tracks better may do better in the wind…but on the other hand they have more length to be affected by the wind and are probably harder to turn and correct once blown off course I would think.

I live on a pretty wide river and paddle on it daily. It is often fairly windy here and as an avid kayaker I have always enjoyed windy day paddling for the choppy conditons.

I just recently got into solo canoeing. Right now I have a Swift Osprey and am looking to supplement this with a royalex 14 footer for river use.

Since I will have the maneuverable and playful end of the spectrum covered, I am debating over whether I may be better off with a faster/ harder tracker for my other boat rather than the Osprey.

The Osprey is a great boat and I like its blend of maneuverability and speed but it is not the greatest in the wind. It seems to weathercock pretty strongly in these conditions.

I am considering a Bell Magic or one of the longer Wenonahs.

How do you think the Osprey and a boat like the Magic would compare in terms of windy day paddling? How about speed? I know the Magic will be faster, but would it be noticeable?