Solo tripper for complete newbie?

Hi

I’m a complete novice to these sort of canoes but am keen to get into them. Here in Australia we obviously have nowhere near the sort of access to the variety of manufacturers and canoe types as is enjoyed in the US and Canada, but we do have at least one quality importer/outfitters here in NSW (Paddle & Portage, in Kangaroo Valley). They bring in Swift (:drooling_face:), Esquiff and some Wenonah canoes, and I’m headed down there in the new year to try a few (hopefully bringing one home with me :crossed_fingers:). So I was hoping someone out there might help point me in the right direction:

About me - I’m turning 60 next year, and am still reasonably strong/fit/healthy (plus I’ve gotten back into training again). I’m about 5’8”, solid build and 220lbs (although that should be reduced by Christmas). I’ve paddled kayaks and outrigger canoes, but this canoe will be a new learning curve for me.

My intended use - I intend to use this canoe in a number of applications, almost exclusively in sheltered/flat water/very occasional minor rapids. I could cop some small wave in areas exposed to occasional coastal swell, as well as passing boat wakes, but mostly it’ll be in calm flat waters.
Initially it’ll be mostly training to develop my skills/techniques and fitness in short day paddles, but these short/long paddling sessions will continue into the foreseeable future and become my main use for fun, peace of mind and fitness.
Eventually I want to do some increasingly multi-day camping trips, so I will need to be able to load adequate kit with safe margin. Maybe a barrel and a decent pack.
I’ll be paddling exclusively solo, my wife is definitely not the aquatic/camping type :laughing:, and (don’t judge me) I’d like the option of being able to swap to a double bladed paddle when confronted with strong headwinds or need to make rapid progress.