Some stupid questions..

I have little experience with canoeing and kayaking.

On a Kayak like the Tarpon 140, how exactly does someone access the tankwells for them to be useful? What about the stuff behind the seat.

Like the large tank in front the front of the kayak here:

http://www.wildernesssystems.com/assets/page/tarpon_140r_angler/beauty_shot/tarpon_140_angler.jpg

I can’t see any way to get to it without some serious wobbling as you’d have to like, stand up, then kneel?

And the storage area behind the seat poses the same issue. You’d have to stand up, turn around, kneel with your knees on the seat in order to access that section comfortably.

Thanks!

when you open those hatches while
on the water, you put your positive buoyancy at risk. If you were to flip at that point, water could get inside, create instability, and even cause the boat to sink if enough water got inside. I’m assuming from your comment that you want to do this while sitting in the boat on the water. Having limited access to stuff is part of being on the water in a small craft. You got to plan ahead for what you think you will need. One option if paddling with someone else is to have them raft up with you and they get stuff out for you.

That makes sense
Thanks, that makes sense. I was a little confused on how to use them. It sounded like people were accessing them easily, so I thought I might have been missing something.

I.E. It sounds like people use the front storage area to put fish in while angling. That seems REALLY difficult to do. Holding the fishing pole, getting the hook out without taking your eye out, and moving to a position where you can open/close it.

Might be a good reason to use a canoe

– Last Updated: May-01-14 8:50 AM EST –

Are you on really big water, or water that's suitable for a canoe? You might be in the wrong kind of boat.