Sore shoulder

I’m new to Kayaking. I signed my family up for a kayaking class with a local instructor three weekends ago.

The following weekend I took the family camping and paddling down the Pine River in western Michigan. This is a narrow river with some white water here and there. It’s officially rated a class I. Having rafted the Yough in OhioPyle, PA and the New in West Va, I think the Pine is pretty tame.

We spent 5.5 hours paddling down the river. We rented kayaks from a local outfitter. I was given an Old Town Loon 110, while my wife & daughter were in Old Town Otters. The paddles were nothing special. The blades were completely flat and squared off at the ends.

I found that the adjustable foot pegs in my Loon kept slipping when I put a lot of pressure on them, so I ended up either paddling with little knee bracing as my legs got straightened out, or I was often kneeling down to reset the peg positions.

I tried hard to maintain proper paddling technique. There were times when I was paddling hard - either to experiment paddling upstream, or to reposition my kayak to catch the best white water.

For the past week since the trip, my left shoulder has been quite sore.

Is this a sign of poor technique or just that I’m not as limber as I used to be?

I’m 36, 5’11" and 200 pounds. I ride a mountain bike regularly, recently 80 - 100 miles per week in training for a Multiple Sclerosis fund raising event where I’ll be covering 150 miles in two days.

Thanks

5.5 hours
If you’re new to paddling and went out for 5.5 hours, you probably have muscles that hurt that you didn’t even know you had!

It could be the technique, lack of footbraces, etc. My shoulders might be a little stiff after a particularly long day on the water but usually not. Ease into it, keep at it, and you’ll get there.

getting old