SOT Transport with Seawings... questions

Hi all - I’m a bit of a newbie, especially with transporting kayaks. I have a Toyota Tacoma with a (unfortunately) short bed, and a camper shell over the bed, and a Thule rack with ‘aerodynamic’ cross bars on the shell. MY kayak is an Eddyline Caribbean 10 SOT kayak. I’m a slight of build 50’s something female, too, and need to be able to transport my kayak solo.

I can and have done the tied in the bed, sticking out the tailgate routine, but I do not want to do that for more than a short jaunt across town. I just ‘test drove’ getting the Eddyline up on the truck roof rack, supported with Malone Seawings. It held solid at 50 mph going across town, but I am not sure I like this method, and I am wondering if I would be better off going bare on to the crossbars with the kayak upside down. Or if I can modify how I got the kayak up and then off the shell, to make it easier/safer. Here are my issues:

The Thule crossbars the local shop here recommended to me are curved. I clearly didn’t realize ahead of time how wobbly that made the default install of the Seawings to the bars… I purchased an adapter kit from Malone that slides into a groove on top of the bars that the wings then mate to; but I’m not thrilled with that solution, either. I feel I have a bit of ‘wobble’ by hand of the Seawings (when empty) to the crossbars that makes me a bit uncomfortable. (the wings are attached to the crossbar adapter plate via locking nuts which I have fully tightened, but still there is a bit of wobble).