Speedy Plastic?

Looking for some advice regarding finding which plastic (roto) kayaks are the fastest. I have been paddling for a couple of years with primarily 12’-14’ recreation boats but am looking for something that I can use for more fitness/speed training. I know that FG or other composites are generally the speed kings, but I sometimes paddle or portage in conditions that might not be hull friendly to these materials, so plastic is probably my best choice. I know that Prijon has their Barracuda model that along with their proprietary plastics is a fast boat, but also one that requires “attention” at all times. I realize that speed and stability usually don’t go hand in hand. 6’-3" Male, 215 lbs. Most of my paddling is on flatwater, inland lakes in the Adirondaks (no ocean travel for me). Thanks for any advice

The Nordkapp RM …
is a fast plastic boat, but like other Nordkapps does require a certain amount of attention.

I’ve heard that the new Valley Etain is also quick and much more forgiving, but I have not paddled one.

Both would be within your weight range. Bay Creek in Rochester is probably the closest dealer where you could test paddle both boats.

hurricane cat 5
Cobra surfski

Spirit ski

Ryan L.

Pyranha has their Speeder, or whatever
it’s called.

Tempest 170 .

Ocean Kayak Sprinter
Designed by Greg Barton should do the trick with all the speed you can produce. No longer made in the USA, but now made in New Zealand. Just saw a used one on Craig’s List selling for the same price ($650) that it originally sole for, more than 12 15 years ago.

How fast do you want?
Do you have a certain speed or time that you want to make?

That’d help determine whether your in a sea kayak or surfski sort of kayak. .

See you on the water,

Marshall

The River Connection, Inc.

Hyde Park, NY

Hull shape
A plumb bow makes the entire length of the boat

a fully effective waterline

• allows speed and performance in rougher water.