Spirit II vs. Prospector 17

I am wanting to get a T-Formex canoe and am trying to decide between a Spirit II or a Prospector 17. The Spirit II is 73lbs, the Prospector is 76lbs. However the Spirit II is $2299, the Prospector is >$3000.
Is the Prospector that much better? I want it for the shallow water rocky rivers we have here in Texas. I have an Old Town Penobscot made of Polyurethane, but left strips of red plastic behind on the rocks and I don’t want to destroy it by doing that again. I also own and Wenonah Minnesota 3. I love that boat, but would not dare take it through the rocks. I do not have any experience with Swift.
Any thoughts? Thanks.

The Old Town Penobscot would have been made of either Royalex or three-layer, rotomolded polyethylene.

Do you really need a 17 foot tandem? If you are not tripping with a load a 16 foot Prospector might suit better.

Of the two boats mentioned I would go with the Spirit II. The Prospector has a bit more rocker and will probably turn a little easier but the Spirit II will be more efficient and is a nice jack-of-all-trades design.

1 Like

Yes, my Penobscot is made of poly. I wish Old Town would go to T-Formex. I like a 17 foot boat because I am normally camping and bringing a good bit of gear. I did this video on all the stuff I bring. How to Pack for a Camping Canoe Trip - YouTube

Well, I have done canoe camping with the composite version of the Spirit II. Assuming the T-formex version is dimensionally similar, you would be able to pack more into a 17 foot Prospector.

I don’t know about the Swift, but I own a Spirit II and a Novacraft Prospector 18. Even though the Novacraft is longer it is a much more maneuverable than the Wenonah. For a rocky river I’d want the manueverability the Prospector would give. Also not sure about the Swift Prospector, but it probably has a higher capacity and would float higher in that shallow river with the same load.