Spray skirt advice

First post here but have been lurking around over the winter.

A friend brought me along to the Great Lakes Symposium last summer and I had a blast in a rented kayak. I wanted to get my own gear so I hung out on craigslist and picked up a Wilderness Systems Tempest 165 that came with a paddle and sprayskirt. I’ve been patiently waiting for water temps on a local slow wide river to get up into the 50’s at least and yesterday was the day. So being the total newbie I am, I hop into my new to me kayak decked out in all my gear (wetsuit, pfd, etc) and try to put my sprayskirt over the combing. And I could not get it on. Not even close. I had never tried it on dry land to practice. Ooops. So back in we go, I needed to adjust the foot pegs anyways. And even on steady dry land I could net get it. So I paddled around without it.

Not sure how the previous owners managed with it but I don’t think I want to struggle with it even if I can get it stretched out a bit. I feel a too tight sprayskirt could be a safety hazard for me being so new to the sport. So I’m in the market for new spray skirt. I’ve been reading some and it seems like sometimes the manufacturers recommended sizes are not always a very good fit. So how do you all shop for sprayskirts? Do you risk ordering online(where you might find a deal) and have it not fit well or do you only buy at a real store where they might let you check the fit? Anyone out there with a WS Tempest165 that has a nicely fitting skirt? Any advice/input would be greatly appreciated!

It’s great that you obviously fell in love with the sport.

Did you practice wet exits at GLSKS in your rental skirt and boat?

What brand is the skirt that came with your Tempest? It could be that the bungee needs to be replaced.