Sprayskirts

Hi, I am new to the whole whitewater kayaking thing and I am so excited to get started. I just finished buying my gear today and I am having alot of trouble with my skirt. I have a Wavesport X and I bought a standard neoprene Harmony skirt. It’s really really tight to put on ME and once that’s done, it’s REALLY hard to get on my boat. I just can’t do it without lots of help! How do I know if my skirt is too small on both accounts? Am i just not strong enough to work the thing? Any suggestions? Thanks!

Can you pull it off?
If you can’t pull it off… I should think even in WW, which emphasizes learning a roll right off the rip, you’d still need to be able to pull it forward and get it off. Yes?

Sprayskirts
yes, i can pull it off ok, its the getting on thats impossible!

not too uncommon
As an old waterwater guide, I can still see pictures in my head of guides helping guides get tight fitting spray skirts on their boats. Eventually though, you should develope a technique that will allow you to get in on the boat solo. Often getting it wet before putting it on can help.

As for it being too tight for your body, well, I reckon it depends on how uncomfortable it is. They do stretch a little. But whether to find a larger one is a personal matter.

Some Thoughts…

– Last Updated: Apr-11-05 5:58 AM EST –

If you can't breath properly with the skirt on, then it's too tight. Right now, I assume you have more clothes on under your drysuit (or drytop and drybottom), this also takes up more room and will decrease as the weather warms up. If you using neo farmer Jane, well... I not sure how much more room when you reduce to a lighter neo gear later.