Stability issues

I am a newbie. I just bought a Perception Conduit 13 and have taken it out twice on a calm lake and tipped it twice. Thankfully i had a paddle float to get back in, with much difficulty, as I was not very close to shore. I just feel so unstable in the kayak. It feels like it is always ready to tip. I am 6’ 1" about 255 lbs. The boat is rated to 295 lbs. Not sure if I am doing something wrong and just need to get more time on the water or if this is just the wrong kayak for someone like me (size and experience level). My first time on a kayak was this year when I rented a perception tribe 11.5. I did fall off of it but it was due to me really turning my whole body. Once I got back on though I felt very stable.

Loosen Up
You’re probably just too stiff in the boat and you need to loosen up. Easy to say, I know, but you’ve only been out a few times and things will get better. With that boat you really shouldn’t have stability problems.

Ideally find a place that offers an introductory class, and maybe even an intermediate class to show you how to do a self rescue properly.

Also, looking around YouTube to see how to do a “low brace” probably wouldn’t hurt.

Keep at it!

wrong size boat

– Last Updated: Jul-30-16 3:22 PM EST –

The Conduit 13 is really more scaled to a smaller person, an average sized woman or medium sized guy. You qualify as a big guy. Your center of gravity is high and you're really a bit too heavy for that boat. The "rated capacities" on boats are deceiving and usually overstated. You need something with more displacement, either a wider boat that length (which will be more stable but slower) or something that width but 2 or 3 feet longer. You probably will get more comfortable with it in time -- you need to relax in it and not overcompensate when you feel it is starting to lean on edge. Keep your hips loose and your upper body centered. Do you downhill ski? Similar body mechanics.