Staining Brightwork

I’ve been following the varnish threads with interest because I’m soon to start replacing the

wooden gunwales on a Quessy canoe. The old cherry outwales just don’t look like they’ll be salvagable, so I’m going with ash in and out.

I would like to stain the gunnels a cherry color.

Has anyone tried the tints or other types of stains on brightwork? Woodcraft sells some “tints” that sound like they could even be used to color a finnish like Watco, so that every time one oiled there gunwales they could make up a little batch of colored oil to refresh the color too.

Also, would it be best to use a sanding sealer first on the ash?

Thanks for ideas on this.

Stains
Can’t speak for the ‘tints’ since I don’t know exactly what they are selling. But as an avid woodworker I can tell you most any stain will color your wood and be fine under the varnish. I have never worked with ash but as with any wood, the smart thing is try it on some scraps first. Some woods stain good and some not so good. It also lets you see the color before you committed to it.

If the wood stains blotchy you might try a sanding sealer, but to much and it won’t take the stain. I like to use a ‘spit’ coat of shellac for a sealer. Thats 10 parts alcohol to one part shellac. It just lightly seals the wood but will let it take the stain. Most times it will even out a blotchy wood.

The traditional method on old wooden power boats is an almost paste/putty like stain called filler stain. Oil based and it was used to fill in the rough texture of the mahogany and make it smooth. Then you varnished over that.

Hope that helps some

Ash to Cherry?

– Last Updated: Nov-24-07 7:56 AM EST –

MRC often stained ash to cherry tones on their "hull of the year" model.