Starting kayaking

I am new to kayaking, and I’m trying to get myself and my girlfriend out of the house more, so I thought kayaking could be fun. We both have kayaked before at camps and rentals. We also want to bring our dogs (labs). I was looking into the AquaGlide Chinook 120. I was thinking with its open top it would be easy for the dogs to get in and out and the inflatable part would be good for traveling. We intended to be mostly in lakes and calm rivers. Also I have no idea how to shop for paddles any advice there would be appreciated as well.

Two labs and their toenails in an inflatable? I looked for a capacity limit. Unless you are on the small side, that is a serious load.
I would be thinking canoe.

3 Likes

I also have dogs and have taken them along on several paddle trips but have come to a conclusion that a canoe is a better craft if you have 2 people or any dogs.
Not that I’d advise against getting kayaks, Far from it. I recommend them highly. And I’d recommend you “get your 2nd or3rd kayaks first”. Because kayaking is an addiction to me I have gone through a lot of them in a little while and kept the ones I loved most.

But for dogs…canoe.

2 Likes

i’ve seen several kayakers in pungo 140’s with large dogs. Being large heavy kayaks transportation may be a problem.
Make sure tour dogs are willing kayakers or canoe riders. I saw a women carry a canoe and quite a bit if gear to a launch site for an overnight camping trip. The dog refused to get in the canoe ,so she unloaded the gear (several trips) and canoe and went home.

1 Like

If you paddle where you say, and the lake paddling does not include crossing larger lakes with a lot of wind/fetch, there are options to handle you guys plus dogs. Assuming the dogs are good with the plan. With labs you could have a dog that is hesitant about getting into the boat, or staying in the boat once away from shore.