Stohlquist Tow Motion vs. NRS CVest

I am looking to replace my +12 year-old Lotus Designs Straight Jacket pfd. I have looked at several lines including Astral and Kokatat. So far I have not found a new vest that meets my wants or needs.

I am a sea kayaker and instructor. I am looking for comfort, fit, durability, attachment points and pockets for my safety gear.

At the moment I am looking at the Stohlquist Tow Motion and NRS CVest. Anyone out there that has tried one or both? Your feedback would be much appreciated.

have a CVest
Mighty pleased w. every feature after 8 months, fall/winter/spring and now into summer.

I have toured for hours at a clip, sprinted for minutes at a clip - lol - surfed, balance braced, sculling braced, rolled, rescues, climbed around the boats, etc. Very comfortable and lightweight,too. The fabric is lighter than other makes and cleans up very well. Looks new so far.

The many pocket dimensions and locations are ideal for me, as are the attachment points for knife and strobe (or plb. The cVest achieves this w. less bulk that other vests w. similar features.

The amount & placement of reflective tape is good. I realize this is minor and I could augment it.

The floatation is not bloated or in the way, a special beef of mine, and the mesh lower back extremely appreciated when touring or doing laybacks.

BUT I have not towed anyone. I have a separate North Water Ocean tow I wear when situation dictates.

As to your needs, do you require an integrated tow belt on your next vest? Prefer it? Or not a factor? Because that would impact on which vests you’d consider.

Raven, thanks for the feeback!
I too use a Northwater tow system, their Sea-Tac model, so I do no require an integrated belt. The VHF radio pocket on the CVest is a plus, but the Stohlquist model has one also.

I seem to fall between sizes on both vests. NRS suggests I go larger. I’m 155 lbs, 5’9" with a 39-40 chest.

glad to help

– Last Updated: Jul-25-13 3:01 PM EST –