Storage question

Hi. I just became the proud owner of a used Old Town Pack canoe. I’m a total beginner and have a storage question. Currently it is stored at a friend’s house under a carport out of the sun and rain.

It is set up rail-sides down on 2 X 4’s which are set a top wood blocks. The 2 X 4 or set about a foot and a half from the ends of the canoe. I’d say it’s about a foot off ground, with the ends of the canoe about 7 or 8 inches off ground. The ground is (moist to wet) soil and rock (no grass and it’s not a gravel driveway) and a little uneven. I tried to get the canoe as level as I could. I threw a tarp partially over the top. That’s how it’s sitting right now. This doesn’t seem ideal to me. How should I store it? The carport, under cover, but outside, is where I need to keep it for now. Any and all advice is appreciated.

Thanks!

its fine
no need for the tarp too.

I’m in Northern New England and the local liveries are full of Old Towns. They sit out all winter…sometimes with quite a snow load. What matters most is they are not in contact with the ground.

Not being level is not a big deal.

UV
Best storage limits the UV exposure, UV eats most plastics and most everything else too.

Sure you can leave it outside in the north without major damage, but it’ll last longer and look better if it’s out of the sun.

Bill H.

Treat

– Last Updated: Mar-01-16 3:09 AM EST –

Your friend with love kindness and several 20's

Most of these hulls are waterproof so dampness is not a major problem. UV is, with lengthy exposures

The support is good. Nail it together so the elves doahn tip it over when you're in RI.

Level the base using a string line level. Maybe tie or drive a nail at 'grade' on the building side then bumper on the other. Measure down to the base for leveling, use a hand level to cross over the base proper.

Show the hull you care.

Supports go under the thwarts. Chain thwart to a rod driven into ground. Give friend a key.

Happy paddling !