Store kayak from cieling on hull?

Hi there,

Complete newbie speaking. I bought a couple loon 100 (plastic) yaks and have subsequently learned that one generally shouldn’t store them on their hull or suspend them from their ends. I had been hoping to get some webbing and pull them up tight to the rafters in my garage and lose as little headroom as possible. No room on the walls to hang them.

Does the “no hull storage” rule apply no matter how much you distribute the weight, or only to throwing the boat on the ground? What if I used maybe 4 spaced straps? Would that still leave the boats vulnerable to warping? would it be better if I turn them over face down, or is this a bad idea all together?

How hot is too hot? My garage gets pretty toasty in the summer.

Thanks, I tried to search but couldn’t find the answers.

You could
If you used wide webbing, say maybe 2" to distribute the weight.

Plastic kayaks deform easily when they’re hot, so the more you distribute the weight, the better. 3 straps should be OK.

Definitely don’t hang them by their ends, or throw them on two metal bars or something like that – that would deform the boats.

DIY slings

– Last Updated: May-30-08 11:07 AM EST –

At only 10' long and less than 50 lbs. in weight, you should easily be able to suspend each kayak on a pair of 2-inch-wide webbing straps like these: http://tinyurl.com/6ngn9n

Screw 4 eye bolts into your ceiling joists and snap each end of the straps into them, forming a pair of U-shaped slings for your boat. Use the buckles to adjust the length of the straps to get the height you want. You could even rig up some sort of draw line to snug the boats right up near the ceiling, then tie off the end to hold them there.