storing Kayak on floor

I just bought my first Wilderness kayak. I left it in a spare room on the floor with the hull down. The hull is laying on bubble wrap and a rug. If left like this, will the hull surface flatten or warp?? I thought I read that leaving the kayaks hull down on a floor is not a very good idea. total newbie question. Lame. But Thanks

Even with bubble wrap and rug
a plastic yak can still warp if stored with bottom of hull on the ground. Better to flip it over and store it upside down on on its side.

I assume you
have a plastic Wilderness Systems boat?

On the floor is fine. You could put some cheapo foam (think pool noodle) under it if it makes you feel better, but there’s little chance it’ll deform enough to matter. If you can lean it up on it’s side against something that might be a little better.

If it’s a high end boat and has a lot of rocker, I’d probably chop up a noodle for it. If it’s < 14 feet and pretty flat bottomed it’s fine.

jim

flatpick
the Wilderness guy, told me it’s best to store them on their sides, prop it up on some foam blocks or pieces of foam pool noodle like jimyaker said. they’re easy to chop up with a bread knife

Def. on its side propped up off the
floor on wood…there is a theory that having a flat bottomed boat sitting on a floor causes it to oilcan faster…

on side
I wouldn’t store a plastic boat on it’s bottom unless it is a totally flat bottomed boat like some rec boats.

At the very least put it upside down, or better yet, prop it on it’s side, on a few pool noodles or blocks of foam or something. Over time I have definitely seen plastic boats deformed by sitting on a couple supports under the hull or under the upside down deck.

the wilderness guy…
I vote for flatpicks method…

Foam Blocks
Be sure and position the blocks under the bulkheads.

by the way
if you want some good non-skid, high-density foam blocks made for holding up kayaks they are $14 a pair on Campmor.com.

It depends