Strapping down kayak on roof rack dent.

Hello. I am new to Kayaking and just took my boat out for the first time this weekend. I have a 10ft Pelican sit on top with a J rack. Knowing that I could dent the sides when strapping the Kayak down I tried to be carful. However, it seems as though not enough because I dented the side. it seemed as though if I didn’t strap the Kayak down with some force the Kayaks were too loose and would slip/rotate in place. Do y’all have tricks to keep from denting the boat on the rack.

this is my rack. Thanks for any help

http://www.dickssportinggoods.com/product/index.jsp?productId=4436507

Unfortunately that is the problem…

– Last Updated: Jul-05-15 10:41 AM EST –

with the cheaper model plastic kayaks.
We have fifteen year old nine foot long Perception Keowees, that I can cinch down as tight as I want to with out denting them, because the plastic is so thick, but all the newer ones that are sold at the big box stores will be like yours.
One solution which might help a bit is to get the extra wide straps that NRS makes.
I think they are 1-1/2" wide.
Another thing that might work is to pick up a piece of foam pipe insulation that has the slit in it, and put it around the portion of your tie down straps that will be against the boat.
It is very inexpensive, comes in different diameters and you can get it in the plumbing dept at Lowes or Home depot.

Good Luck,

Jack L

More foam
can be used to put under the kayak between it and the rack, also.

Foam is the greatest non-slip, non scratch thing ever.

Some stores sell just the foam blocks that people use without the metal carrier racks, you could play around with trimming some to fit. Alternate sources of foam, besides Ace-Home-Lowe’s, include spare pillows in your house with the covers taken off that are too flat now for beds, old foam bed/furniture pads, and giant diameter pool noodles at Wally World. Also, some boat upholstery repair places will have foam.