Stress Crack

I’ve been looking at high end solo canoes (black gold bells, placids, swifts) and have recently come across one that is in excellent condition expect for about a 2 inch stress crack in the side of the hull.

My first question is the stress crack something that should keep you from purchasing the canoe? It looks like it hasn’t torn the fabric and I think it could easily be repaired just by putting a patch over it but I’m no expert on composite repair.

Second is how much does the stress crack affect the value? I’ve seen similar like new canoes without a crack in the $1800-$2000 range in my area and would like to get an idea of a fair price with the crack.

Stress Cracks
Stress cracks are just that - a line of shattered resin where the fabric has nor broken. The usual patch is a matching piece of, usually Kevlar, peel plied down to flatten the patch’s edges and to match interior texture. There is no significant weight disadvantage and no compromised strength.

An array of Bells, Swifts, etc in the $2000 range are, depending on laminate and trim, roughly 1/3 off already. I suspect discount for a well patched stress fracture is just another factor in the mix of trim material, condition and general hull condition. Same goes for Colden, Hemlock and any other high end composite hull.

CE Wilson is clear about patching inside
where a Kevlar patch will match the Kevlar inside the hull. But you aren’t clear about where the “stress crack” is visible. I suspect you mean it is on the outside surface, not the inside. But what do you mean?

What boat and layup is it? Blackgold?