Stress cracks

These are on the hull on the stern side of the rear bulkhead. Any concern?

Looks like hairline cracks in gel coat. Sometimes these happen without any damage to the underlying structural layers. Can you see the interior of the hull opposite of where these hairline cracks are? If so and there is no visible sign of damage I personally would not worry about them.

I have had hairline cracks like these occur in the gel coat on canoes that have been present for many years and have not gotten any worse or resulted in any delamination of the gel coat.

I agree. Those stress cracks look minor and nothing to worry about. They almost look more like marks than cracks. Looks like someone has a big rock at their put-in that they keep bumping. You could put pieces of Gorilla tape over them for added peace of mind.

Although I have no personal experience with it several people on this site have recommended Captain Tolley’s for minor stress cracks. Penetrates and seals according to the web site. Not for larger cracks.

1 Like

Thanks. I’ll keep an eye on them.

Keep the hull dry if it gets below freezing in your area so that ice doesn’t expand in the cracks.

1 Like

Those a classic “spider cracks”, which are caused by the difference in flexibility between the gelcoat and the underlying layup. They’re purely cosmetic, but it’s still a good idea to check that there isn’t any structural damage by checking the area from the inside. They occur very commonly in the areas around bulkheads. If they bother you, one option is to sand the area and re-coat it, but they’re probably just going to come back with use. I would just ignore them, which is what I do on my own boats. Otherwise, you’ll spend more time fixing gelcoat than paddling.