Stretching a rope on a canoe?

I'm new to paddle sports, this evening when I was exiting the river I noticed a gentlemen stretch a taught rope from bow to stern on his canoe before he loaded it onto his rack. He drove away before I could ask him why he did that. Deductive reasoning would lead me to believe that it helps maintain the shape of the canoe when it is not being used. Is this correct and should I do the same to my canoe?

Thanks, Josh

Maybe his canoe is warped
Nothing of the sort should be necessary. Any canoe that needs “help” maintaining its shape has “issues” that you won’t find in any quality boat. That said, some hull materials can become warped by abuse, and polyethylene is downright susceptible to warping (poly is also only found on cheap boats). Royalex CAN become warped by being too-tightly strapped to a rack, but seeing a warped Royalex boat is a very rare thing. Composite boats should be pretty-much immune to warpage.

Hmmm. Maybe the guy you saw just stores his bow line that way, and pulls it tight to keep it from flopping in the breeze.

Could you tell the construction of
the canoe? How was it loaded, with the open side down as usual? I assume he stretched the rope across the open length of the canoe, rather than along the bottom. (?)

If the canoe was loaded in the usual fashion, with the rope stretched along the opening in the canoe, it is hard for me to see what he was about. When carried on a rack, the canoe undergoes stresses tending to pull the bow and stern downward, and of course most of us use bow and stern ropes which also tend to pull the boat into a banana shape. A long rope from the bow stem to the stern stem is not going to counteract those forces. Rather it will increase them.