stretching

I am finally seeing the benefit of stretching. Back is much better when i do it. Question is what stretches to do at launch site. If i launch close to home 10 minutes away I can do it at home. It involves lying on back. Something I would not want at launch site. Any suggestions.

bring a towel
Figure out a way to lie down.

What things are you stretching?
If you are looking for some alternate type of stretch to do which will accomplish the same thing as your usual lying-down stretch, it would help to know what it is that you want to accomplish. I’m a self-taught stretcher who gradually figured out what stretches to do during years of martial arts, and could suggest dozens of stretches (those with formal training could do a better job, since each stretch probably has a name and could be referenced online), but have no idea which ones are applicable in this case.

stretch
What has happened this year is that after paddling I am getting pain in hip. Been using home gym to stretch before paddling close to home & it has helped. Think mainly it is lower back that I am interested in doing stretches for

walk
you should also be doing a fast paced walk just before canoeing to get the heart beating. You can do this at the launch site. A 15 minute walk should do it.

Foam roller
Have you tried using a foam roller? http://tinyurl.com/o4vjsxw

I started using it a few weeks ago on my calves, as sometimes I get calf cramps. Had good success. Was out of town for a week and off the water till yesterday and hadn’t used the roller. And the end of my paddle, I could feel my calves tightening up. I’m now a believer.

roller
the roller looks good. Don’t see using it a launch but guessing it would work doing it at home just before i leave. Thanks

google “Dr. Cox exercises for the lower
back”. These are good for loosening up and particularly for lower back injuries and recovery.

That depends…
Where in the hip is the pain located? Front, side, back of the body?