Strong, flexible kayak sled for steep rocky shore...

I have a small waterfront home on the “quiet” east side of Orcas Island in the Washington State San Juan’s. Right at Doe Bay. This is a very small but very cool property that I have been working on for almost two years.

The shoreline that I own is a very rugged, rocky slope. Our cabin was built in 1995 and was (from all accounts) one of the very last homes built so close to the water on Orcas. You could never build this close again.

The tide swings here are huge. I am determined to be able to launch my kayaks (a NDK Romany Surf and a Dagger Stratos 14.5L) from these rocks though. So, I am in the process of building a strong, flexible, cheap, and above all lightweight kayak sled that I can shove down these rocks. This will be a trial and error process that will evolve over time.

There are lots of great places to launch a kayak on these islands, but I want the spur of the moment capability to do so from right in front of our cabin without having to secure the boat on the roof of our car and drive someplace.

Will update soon with some photos…

Max

This is the rocky shore at near high tide looking back up to to the cabin.

This is the same scene looking down from the upper deck at low tide

This is going to be a challenge…

(The center beach with the green grunge belongs to a neighbor, so my focus is the rocky shore in the lower part of this photo)…

My first thought would be a retractable ramp, but that might be too large to store in the retracted state.

Beautiful! Here on the Carolina coast it’s all docks and jetties and stairways.

I imagine the sled material needs to be affordable, obtainable, wetable, easy to work with and slick and tough enough to slide over rocks. HDPE comes to mind. How about finding a used port-a-potty side or wall? Or large wheeled trash bin? Or dumpster lid?