Struggling to Keep Paddle Routes Straight, any Ideas?

Hey everyone,

I’ve been having a bit of trouble keeping a consistent route during my paddling trips, especially on longer journeys. No matter how focused I try to stay, I often find myself drifting off course, and by the time I realize it, I’ve wasted a ton of energy trying to correct it. I’m curious if anyone else here has experienced the same thing and what you’re doing to stay on track?

For context, I paddle on lakes and rivers mostly, and while I’ve been at it for a while, I’m not a seasoned pro or anything. What frustrates me the most is that when I get into a good paddling rhythm, I seem to zone out and lose track of small course adjustments until I’m way off course. It’s not like I’m in any real danger, but it definitely adds unnecessary time and effort to my outings.

One thing I thought might help is using some kind of tracker. I know that cyclists use trackers to monitor their routes, keep track of distances, and even analyze their performance over time. For example, an online bike ride distance calculator helps cyclists estimate the distance of their rides by using GPS data to track their paths. This not only gives them real-time feedback on their progress but also helps them review and plan future rides more effectively. I’ve been inspired by this idea and wondered if there was a way to apply a similar concept to paddling. I’m not talking about a high-tech solution, but maybe a tool that could help me keep an eye on my direction in a simple, practical way. Something that alerts me when I’m drifting or helps me map my route so I can improve over time. Anyone have experience with something like this?