Suggestions for inexpensive gear...

Hello! I am fairly new to the paddling scene. I started doing most of my paddling last summer. I have a recreational kayak nothing fancy. I bought a fairly cheap one because I really didn’t have the extra funds. But to the point my sister and I are going to be doing some beginner paddling events etc. and they are going to be held in PA in the early spring. My biggest concern is how do I stay dry and warm? What are some suggestions on inexpensive gear to wear? Do I attempt using a spray skirt if I have no experience? I have dry bags for extra gear.How do I go about securing them well enough if I capsize? Any info will be appreciated.

Well…
First, there are good guides here on this site regarding what to wear in which weather conditions. In mild conditions I find that biking clothing that wicks works well; in moderate conditions you start needing at least a farmer john wetsuit and a paddling or semi-dry jacket; in really cold water (not just cold air) situations, such as in the oceans, you need to move closer to a drysuit. The general advice is to dress for immersion, as that’s what will nail you but good!

Second, make sure you have either closed and sealed bulkheads in your rec kayak (front and back) or for either side without a bulkhead get a float bag. Don’t skimp on doing this!

Third, you should learn how to do a wet exit and self-rescue before committing to a full skirt, IMHO. A half skirt is OK for some if you don’t know how to do those things, but learn them anyway.