Suggestions for kayak weekend trip in WA

Hey guys, I’m looking for a fun weekend kayak trip in WA state. I live in Seattle so something on this side of the state. This will be my first trip so I was wanting either a big lake that Would be fun to go around and find some campsites or a calm river since I’m not experienced in white water or anything and have only ever done lake kayaking. If anyone has any suggestions it would be greatly appreaciated!! Thanks

Freshwater only?

– Last Updated: May-20-16 7:47 PM EST –

So no sea kayaking? What boat do you paddle? I've REALLLLLY been wanting to do Lake Diablo but haven't researched put-ins much. I've only been here 6 months.

a full

– Last Updated: May-20-16 8:22 PM EST –

wetsuit with booties is required/essential/advised/necessary...

check out the Skagit from Concrete to ?

or from the next two SP's upstream. The first requires a yak cart or a carry.

There's San Juan CO. Park above Lime Kiln or the Park across from Shaw Island.

Paddle from park to Lime Kiln if the tides are OK. There are tours. Weather is best during an approaching Hi from Tofino...

Read Washburne's book on kayaking the area.

The KOA has room...

Not sure…

– Last Updated: May-20-16 8:32 PM EST –

If those suggestions are for me or the original poster. If me, thank you :) if the OP I think sending to SJI with no open water experience would be ambitious.

Columbia River
How about the Columbia River. Most of the islands above Skamakowa are open for camping.

Watch for currents and big ships.

Weather, equipment

– Last Updated: May-21-16 8:49 AM EST –

dependent kayaking.

The Skagit trips down to the salt water are stable wind wise. Look thru topo's for camping. West Coast Paddler in 'trips' has a report.

Diablo n esp Ross are windy afternoons better during approaching hi's