Suggestions needed for new SOT, light and stable kayak

Hello All.

There’s another current thread (among many others) that has been helpful, but my needs are different enough to warrant asking for my own advice.

My wife and I kayak to get away from people and be in nature. We will be on calm mountain lakes exclusively. We like to explore often small and shallow inlets and coves, so a 10’-12’ kayak will be best for maneuverability. I scrape the bottom or submerged rocks and trees a lot, so blowup kayaks are out of the question.

I am a beginner for sure, and really don’t intend on progressing past beginner status. We just cruise around lakes and watch the wildlife. I have a FeelFree Lure 10 currently, and due to bad shoulders, bad knees, etc. am looking for something lighter while still being stable like the Lure 10 is. If the new kayak was faster and tracked better, I certainly wouldn’t complain! Budget is up to $2,000 or so.

The following are kayaks that get suggested consistently, with the weight of the Skimmer 106 being hard to ignore. I’d love to get suggestions amongst this list or others that I’ve missed.

FeelFree Lure 10 (current kayak)
10’
34" Width
80lbs

Wilderness Systems Tarpon 105
10.5’
32" Width
58lbs

Native Watercraft Falcon 11
11’
32.5" Width
60lbs

Hurricane Skimmer 106
10.5’
32" Width
39lbs

EDITED TO ADD:

The Eddyline Caribbean 10
10’
29" Width (makes me worry it won’t be stable)
40lbs

Both Skimmer and Carribean are stable. I’m tall and had no trouble with either.

1 Like

Any kayak wder than 24” is going to be stable in flat water , especially the short recreational models that you are considering. 29” is wider than my solo 13’ canoe!

Stable is relative. Narrower vee hulled rather than flat hulled kayaks are more stable in waves and less apt to capsize.