Suka

I have been paddling for 2 years in a solstice GTS and have come to realize my boat may just be too big for me. I don’t feel very stable or feel I have good control of my boat. I am 5’6" and 110lbs and have narrow hips. Today I paddled a Suka and loved it! I loved the feel of the harder edge and felt in control and effortless in my turns. Before I go and sell my GTS and buy a Suka…what other boats similar to the Suka would you recommend I try first? I am interested in other light weight touring kayaks with hard chines, preferably not longer than 16-17 inches since I want to be able to pick it up and move it short distances without too much difficulty.

Karen

Are you sure it was the hard chines
that gave you the better the better control in the Suka compared to your Solstice GTS?

I suspect that the better control is more related to better fit and shorter length than hard chines vs soft chines.

My recollection of my test paddle of the Solstice GTS is that it’s a very hard tracking boat.

I haven’t paddled the Suka, because at 5’6" and 160 lbs, I had to pry my thighs under the braces when I tried one on for size at Canoecopia last spring.

You’d probably enjoy a kevlar Perception Shadow 16.5. The cockpit is a pretty tight fit for me and it doesn’t have enough foot room for my size 8.5 mens, but my wife fits it well at 5’2" with size 6 feet. It’s a very easy to control and very sporty boat.

the Solstice GTS is way too big
for someone 5’6" and 110 lbs.

And, for what it’s worth, “suka” is the Russian word for bitch

Suka also means sugar.

Might try an Impex Mystic. Or, you might
locate a Wilderness Systems Tchaica Pro, Shenai Pro or Tempest 165. The Tempest is probably the easiest to find.

Suka is an awesome boat
It’s one of my favorites. Problem is, my knees aren’t so good anymore and getting in and out of it is really tough for me. But, once in, I love it.

Other boats
My are you too small for the Solstice GTS…