SUP for beginner. Best SUP for yoga. How to choose a paddle board for sup yoga?

Hi everyone, newbie here!

My friend recently let me borrow her SUP over the weekend and I fell in love with it. I feel like I’m ready to invest in my own SUP and am looking for advice on a good SUP for beginners.

I also really enjoy Yoga and want to combine both. I was looking around and saw this gorgeous Synergy - Yoga iSup Board on sale on outdoormaster recently but I’m not really sure about the brand and whether or not it’s stable enough to support yoga.

Any suggestions on brands, sizing, and tips on how to choose a paddle board for sup yoga are welcome!

P.S. I’m 5’2" and ~140 lbs if that helps!

What is your budget? There are a LOT of fly by night companies selling SUPs right now since they are so popular. I’m not familiar with the one you mentioned - I don’t know the specs on that board. For your height and weight something around 10’6” would probably be a good starting point. Generally for yoga the most important factor is a deck pad that extends the entire deck of the board from nose to tail - you don’t want your hands and feet on a slippery surface! Otherwise most boards can be used for yoga but something a little wider and more stable than a performance touring board would be good.

Are you set on an inflatable? I find cheap inflatables can be “wiggly” in the water, but if storage is a concern then inflatable is the way to go. Transporting a rigid SUP board is relatively simple compared to a kayak or canoe and can be done on almost any vehicle short of a convertible - so don’t necessarily rule out a rigid board unless storage is a limiting factor.

1 Like