SUP paddle direction convex/cocave?

Hello - I’m brand new to SUP and read blogs and watched YouTube videos prior to my first adventures.

I purchased a kayak/SUP paddle combo from Amazon and the pieces only connect one way. In “kayak mode” you have the 2 paddles attached to each end of the pole. To convert to “SUP mode” simply remove one paddle and replace it with a post and handle.

What I found is that the orientation of the handle and the paddle makes it so my paddle enters the water with the concave side hitting the water first (scooping it like you would if kayaking). But all the SUP tutorials I watched before explained most beginners make the mistake of thinking this is the correct method. When in fact you want to the convex side entering the water first. This allows your full stroke to propel you forward, rather than the tail end of it push water up.

Researching similar combo paddle products on Amazon I found that other models were also oriented in the same fashion (ie not what I saw in tutorials). Now I know Amazon is maybe not the best marketplace for quality equipment - but I am a beginner and not quite ready to invest in a $200+ paddle.

Questions:

• Is there really a right and wrong way to orient the paddle or is just a matter or preference?

• Am I only encountering this issue because I’m using the kayak/SUP combo models? I would have thought they’d done their research as all that’s needed is to reverse the orientation of the handle.

I’ve already been out a few times and can get by with the scoop method. Still zigging and zagging quite a bit but feeling some improvement each time.

1 Like

One would scoop ice cream with the concave side scooping up the ice cream. To scoop water and make the board move, you would also use the concave side.