SUP tips for handling wind

I’m new to the SUP game, and it’s been going well, but I feel like performance in the wind is just terrible. Of course, a tailwind is fine, but I seem so slow with a headwind. Any tips on this situation? My board is an inflatable (Imagine Surf Icon), and I’m using a Sol paddle.

I think I’m halfway decent without the wind. I guess it doesn’t help that every time i go out, there seems to be 10-15 mph winds. I mainly kayak, and I’m much faster in that. Also, I have trouble trying to keep up with my kayak buddies when I’m on the board. Then again, the one guy was in a 14’ boat.

SUPs are much more impacted by wind than a kayak, with the paddler standing up and acting like a sail. Plus the average person is not as fast/efficient when paddling a SUP as compared to a kayak.

When the head wind gets so strong that you are making little or no forward progress, the first fix is to get down on your knees (so act less like a sail) and paddle in that position.

Long term, watch videos or take lessons to learn how to increase your forward stroke efficiency. Plus switching to a hard shell SUP may also help some, particularly a narrower one and maybe a displacement version.

2 Likes

Thanks, that’s kind of what I suspected. Even though I’m a thin guy, when I’m standing up, square into the wind, that’s decent amount of surface area. Definitely do feel like a human sail sometimes!