Swimming Pool Tile Expert?

Anyone here have experience arguing against claims that kayaks damage indoor swimming pool tiles? Our local pool class is being blamed for missing and loose tiles as an apparent excuse to terminate our use of the facilities. Their “experts” blame the missing tiles on the kayaks. The real issue seems to be several of the school personnel who don’t have any appreciation for a “continuing education” kayak class.

Properly installed tiles aren’t easily
dislodged, until the special plaster in nwhich they are set begins to go from age and chlorine.

However, you’re in a tough spot. I would ask to see their data. If they have actual data showing an up-tic in tile replacement, not just the first season of use, but across subsequent seasons, then you’re screwed. If they don’t, then you at least have a talking point based on lack of evidence.

Pool Tiles
I’ve been teaching kayak classes in a pool for several years now and we have never had a tile broken or come loose. I know we have banged the pool sides before. Sounds like an excuse to me. Vaughn Fulton

Get a professional opinion

– Last Updated: May-11-08 12:57 PM EST –

Our club is fortunate to use the YMCA pool for spring rolling/rescue sessions. The first time we used the pool, the YMCA staff seemed a little concerned about kayaks hitting the side of the pool, so we have tried to be careful and avoid hitting the sides of the pool. We have a good relationship with the YMCA staff.

It would probably be a good idea to talk to someone from a pool repair company about how likely it is for a kayak to damage the side of the pool. They won’t charge you anything to talk to you on the phone. If he says it is extremely unlikely that a kayak can damage the sides of a pool, tell the pool staff what he said. If says that damage is easily caused by kayaks, tell him your name is John Smith, that you are calling from Alaska, say thank you and hang up.