Tall Man Paddling

I’m looking to hear experiences from other TALL paddlers. I’m 40 yrs old, 6"7, 270 lbs, size 14 feet.

I’ve been paddling flat water, off and on, for 19 years. I’m currently floating a poly Wilderness Systems Cape Horn 170. She’s 19 yrs old, being my first kayak, and still does a great job. But, I’m looking to step to a new level. I want to get into more demanding ocean waters that push my skill set.

Is anyone my size out there floating a composite, expedition level sea kayak?

I’d really like to know TALL stories about boats, gear, skills, etc.

Thanks & Good Travels!

Go for the best
I’m not as tall as you, but if you are looking for the best expedition kayak I know of and I do own one, it is the NC Kayaks Expedition. This boat is fast, stable, loves rough water and is a pure joy to paddle. Other than that, it is the best looking kayak in the world and it is all American made. Take a look at nckayaks.com.

You might also want to look at the Valley Nordkapp, Stellar Intrepid, P&H Cetus, Current Designs Isle, and Sterling Grand Illusion. I’ve paddled all of them, and they are all really great kayaks, but I wouldn’t trade my NC Expedition for any of them.

Relatively few choices