Tandem Kayaks

-- Last Updated: May-27-04 8:05 AM EST --

I'm looking for advice on purchasing a tandem kayak for lake/pond, slow stream, and calm ocean (pass through the waves). I'm 6'5" 230 lbs so I need one capable of 400+ lbs. I would like to fish from it. I am a beginner! Stability and "sea" worthiness are important. I'm looking at the Old Town 160T. Also heard of a "Feelfree Gemini Tandem". Any suggestions or help is greatly appreciated.

Why a tandem?
You have not mentioned whether or not this would be used by two people so I am curious as to why you want a tandem? the 160T is a great boat but heavy for one person when compared to so many other stable large cockpit (and canoes) available out there.

a suggestion
I have seen the Current Designs Libra XT (a 2 person boat with a sort-of 3rd seat in the middle) handle some pretty crazy conditions on Lake Superior.

The boat is beautiful, wonderfully made by a great company, and would certainly handle the weight range that you’re talking about in a very sea-worthy manner.

For comparison sake, I’ve been in that boat in 4’ surf on the big lake (which is a steeper chop than the ocean would be), with 375lbs. of paddler and about 100lbs. of gear. I got soaked because the wind was blowing off the tops of the waves, but the boat can handle that sort of weather very easily. I’d feel safer in it than in most power boats, that’s for sure.

I highly recommend you check that boat out as it’s just so freakin’ huge it can handle more weight and seems less apt to flip over than other tandems I’ve been in.

I’ll go on record saying I have no affiliation with Current Designs in any way, whatsoever. In fact, I don’t even own that boat (2 single P&H boats are what I have) but on trips with friends, they rent that tandem every year.

Here’s a link:

http://www.cdkayak.com/kayaks/comps/libraxt.asp

divorce boat
They don’t call them divorce boats for nuthin’…

Do yourself a favor and buy 2 boats.

P

Tandem