Tarp pole length

I’m going to buy a 1.9oz 10x14 tarp and some tarp poles from CCS. Often there are no trees where I camp, so I need the poles. I’m a complete tarp beginner and was wondering what size poles to get; CCS offers 83"-92" and 63"-72". It’ll mostly be used for shade, so I thought maybe a lean-to may be a good start.

What’s the best way to tie the tarp loop to a pole? Can you tie it lower down the pole with a clove hitch? I guess pole length wouldn’t matter then.

Any input would be appreciated.

You can use a stuff sack over a paddle.
My wife makes nylon stuff sacks with a piece of webbing sewn a few inches below the sacks open end. The webbing wraps around the bag and is sewn down with a bar stitch every couple inches. You put the bag over a kayak paddle, half paddle, or canoe paddle, cinch the drawstring around the shaft. Then tie or carabiner the tarp to one side and guy lines to the other. The sack carries the tarp and lines and a tall skinny bag carries stakes and fits over a Greenland paddle.

Cliff Jacobsen has great videos on how to trick out your tarp along with tips for rigging.

Two tarps can be even more valuable, for a roof/ wall setup. Learn to vary your setup according to what Mama nature gives you to work with.

Good Luck

Randy

ccs has the loops. at the corners.

– Last Updated: Jan-21-16 10:57 AM EST –

Its easy to tie paracord off then make a loop in it to fit over the top of the pole. I have these poles that have a nub on the top for tying off.

Personal preference for height. Low tarps give me claustrophobia. I have two Noahs Tarp poles

Getting another two

http://www.campmor.com/c/kelty-noah-staff-aluminum-pole

There are other poles. Not saying they are the best but they have worked ok. We use them to supplememt when we are missing that third or fourth tree.

tarp poles